skip to Main Content
Upcoming E-AHPBA and IHPBA Congresses

16th Biennial Congress of the E-AHPBA
June 2025, Dublin, Ireland

16th World Congress of the IHPBA
15 – 18 May 2024, Cape Town, South Africa

Previous E-AHPBA and IHPBA Congresses

15th Biennial Congress of the E-AHPBA
6th – 9th June 2023, Lyon, France

E-AHPBA Congress 2021

E-AHPBA Congress 2019

13th congress e-ahpba image and link

E-AHPBA Congress 2017

15th World Congress of the IHPBA

14th World Congress of the IHPBA, Virtual Congress

IHPBA World Congress 2018

E-AHPBA Congress Bidding Information:

The bid process for the E-AHPBA 2027 Biennial Congress is now closed.

The bid process for the E-AHPBA 2029 Biennial Congress is set to open in 2024. Please revisit this page for more information or email to note your interest.

The Biennial Congress rotates within the European / African / Middle East region on a two-year cycle, taking place on odd-numbered years usually between late May early June.

The Biennial Congress is run by the E-AHPBA in partnership with a Local Organising Committee (LOC) from the host Country.  This Local Organising Committee may represent any of the following groups:

  • A chapter of the E-AHPBA
  • A national organisation of Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary surgery

Below you can download a supporting document outlining the Congress Management Process and the specific roles & responsibilities of each stakeholder. In addition, you will find the application specification for your attention and reference. Note these are for 2027, which is now closed but the page will be updated with 2029 information in due course.

Should you have any questions in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact the Management Office via

History of the E-AHPBA Biennial Congress

Year City Country
2025 Dublin Ireland
2023 Lyon France
2021 Bilbao Spain
2019 Amsterdam Netherlands
2017 Mainz Germany
2015 Manchester United Kingdom
2013 Belgrade Serbia
2011 Cape Town South Africa
2009 Athens Greece
2007 Verona Italy
2005 Heidelberg Germany
2003 Istanbul Turkey
2001 Amsterdam Netherlands
1999 Budapest Hungary
1997 Hamburg Germany
1995 Athens Greece
Back To Top